Motivation ulittles

Discussion in 'Coach' started by Timbuck, Jun 11, 2017.

1. Timbuck

Timbuck Member

Jul 31, 2012
    I am a dad. I am a coach. I no longer coach my 10 year old. But I do my 12 year old.
    10 year old daughter is playing for a coach that I really like(d). He's in his mid 20s. I like him because he seems to understand how to work with kids. He also played at a pretty high level (but I don't think that is as important for youngers)
    My daughters best friend is also on the team. She has been there for 2 years. My dd just joined at the end of this fall.
    They are both pretty good players. But they might goof off a bit in practice. (Part of the reason I stopped coaching her. She's talented and hard working, but not great with feedback from dad).
    I learned today that he has been trying to motivate them by asking "who's better?" And does little contests here and there with them. Juggling. Races. Goals in a game. And then he'll say "I guess we know who is better now".

For olders and for boys, I don't have as much of an issue with this. But these are 2 girls who are 10 years old and have been best friends for 3 years. Their friendship is more important to me than my kid getting a little bit better in soccer.

Is my concern valid? Or am I overreacting. I don't plan to say anything to the coach unless I hear that either one of them winds up in tears over it.

2. rca2

rca2 Member+

Nov 25, 2005
    I think he is trying to introduce a "competitive cauldron" as promoted by Anson Dorrance. He uses it for college players and advocates its use by High School coaches. Even for High School kids or boys, I don't like the coaches approach. "Who's better?" is judgmental (compare to "who won today" which refers to the performance rather than the person) and is not motivational.