Is any soccer at the youth level "good" soccer for the player (provided no injuries)?

Discussion in 'Youth & HS Soccer' started by MonagHusker, Aug 16, 2017.

1. MonagHusker

MonagHusker Member

Liverpool FC
    United States
    Feb 25, 2016
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    This is my first time with someone playing "select"/competitive soccer. She is also doing her rec team as well.

At the U12 level is all soccer one gets in whether alone, with friends, in practice, scrimmages, games of all variety, good and beneficial? Provided one doesn't get hurt or worn out (physically or mentally), could some be bad?

I guess can a rec coach "ruin" development the select coach started? That sort of thing.

2. mwulf67

mwulf67 Member+

Sep 24, 2014
    Club:
    Chelsea FC
    I think any one coach would have to go a long way to actually “ruin” the development of a player…

She is probably/hopefully getting better training with her select team (that’s part of the deal, right) , but that doesn’t necessarily mean she is getting totally worthless or harmful training with her rec team…at that age, anytime spend with the ball at their feet, is time well spent imo…as long as they are enjoying themselves and having fun….

Like I say, I think it would take a very overbearing coach that demanded their players do very specific and completely wrong techniques to “ruin” any “proper” training they might get somewhere else…odds are, hopefully, you aren’t going to run into anything like that…

MonagHusker repped this.
  3. MonagHusker

MonagHusker Member

Liverpool FC
    United States
    Feb 25, 2016
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Thanks! Our rec coach is fine. He doesn't practice a lot, but they work hard when they do. He benefitted from the coach before him and the girls have usually been good.

I have heard that you want to get as many touches and all touches are good. I like how you worded it.