I was wondering which irish team i should support i started a thread

Discussion in 'Ireland: NSR' started by Giallorossiguy, Feb 14, 2007.

1. Giallorossiguy

Giallorossiguy New Member

Feb 2, 2007
    Hello i started this thread to try and find out which irish team i should support Any Suggestions!?

2. YankExile

YankExile New Member

Jan 7, 2007
    Buffalo NY
    That depends. What brings you looking for a club in Ireland you can back? If you're of Irish descent (I'm guessing from your context you aren't actually from Ireland), try choosing a team from the area of Ireland you can trace your roots back to. That's what I did, and why I root for Cork City. If not, maybe look at the kits around the league, and find one that strikes your fancy. But the team you choose is best when you choose them for your own reasons, not because others say "Here, root for these guys." Find whichever one captures your heart is all I can say.

3. Giallorossiguy

Feb 2, 2007
    My background is in County Clare any teams there?

4. Bucky-O'Hare

Bucky-O'Hare Member

Feb 14, 2007
    Ireland
    Club:
    Derry City
    If your from County Clare the nearest team to you is Galway United. There are no teams in Clare itself. Limerick would have been your closest team but they folded a few months ago.

This is a good time for you to become a Galway fan because they recently turned proffessional this year. Along with my team Derry City and Drogheda United they are one of only three professional teams in Ireland.

I have to warn you though. Speaking from a lot of experience, supporting an Irish soccer team can be extremely disheartening. The domestic league is in a terrible state due to the fact that most people prefer to support teams in England and Scotland spending hundreds of pounds on these foreign teams while not spending a cent on their local teams. The mentality of these people is disgraceful!!

If you have anymore questions don't hesitate to ask. I just joined this website today.