Hey Teachers, Are you Happy with "Education"?

Discussion in 'Education and Academia' started by 60-90 Days, May 9, 2008.

1. 60-90 Days

60-90 Days New Member

Apr 6, 2007
    I am a teacher and I am curious what people around the nation think about how the education profession is going. At my school, the kids seem to gain more power daily. I want to give our head principal the benefit of the doubt. She is pulled off campus just about every day for meetings. We have literally hundreds of kids tardy for almost every class period. We have a dress code that is not followed. We have etc..... Are there any schools out there that run smoothly?

2. Peakite

Peakite Member

Mar 27, 2000
    Berkshire
    Club:
    Halifax Town
    You do actually forget to mention which nation ;).

However, I think a lot of complaints would also hold water over here too. That said I'm at a very good school which does help matters and some of the things I'd complain about, many of my colleagues at other schools wouldn't think of as being something really that bad. Most things are relative.

3. extremegamer

extremegamer Member

Jun 28, 2007

I am a professor of chemistry at a major university in the US.

The kids get worse each year in terms of complacency and discipline. These are supposedly adults but I really feel intimidated by how they approach me. I got even with some of them by being biased when grading their lab reports and handing out low grades.

Lack of class on my part? Yes but nothing feels sweeter than revenge and I'm willing to keep this up if they want.

I no longer take teaching seriously but it's not a loss to me anyway because I'm more into research. Teaching intro courses is something I'm obligated to do for my position and I leave it at that.

4. Uppa 90

Uppa 90 Member

Jan 16, 2004
    K.C. MO
    Club:
    Kansas City Wizards
    Nat'l Team:
    United States