help with soccer postions

Discussion in 'The Beautiful Game' started by omy6boys, Oct 6, 2002.

1. omy6boys

omy6boys New Member

Oct 6, 2002
    NC
    oh i hope i am doing this right i need an answer on a few soccer postions for my team as I am new to this. what is a stopper what is a sweeper ans what is a striker will i use these foir 8-10 year olds

2. GoHawks4

GoHawks4 Member

Apr 24, 2002
    Chicago
    Club:
    Liverpool FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Striker is a forward but more forward. Stopper is between the mid field and the defense, but more of a midfielder. Sweeper is a defender who roams around the entire back, rather than just left, center or right.

3. flanoverseas

flanoverseas New Member

Mar 2, 2002
    Xandria
    David Regis called himself a stopper at the end of last year with Metz. He played in the middle of a three man back line. I think your definition of stopper is more suited to the libero position, no?

4. Belgian guy

Belgian guy Member+

Club Brugge
    Belgium
    Aug 19, 2002
    Belgium
    Club:
    Club Brugge KV
    In some sweeper systems, the sweeper comes up to midfield when the team is in possesion, my team used to play that way. The difference between a stopper and a sweeper has faded in my opinion...

5. Parkhead_Faithful

Parkhead_Faithful New Member

Dec 19, 2001
    Glasgow,Scotland
    You didnt happen to program fifa 2002 by any chance?

6. Chicago1871

Chicago1871 Member

Apr 21, 2001
    Chicago
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Stick with simple "forwards" and "defenders." This is a critical learning time for youngsters in the game. I myself coached a group of 11 year-olds and found that simple was the way to go. At least at the start. Begin their in-depth education slowly. Start with forward and work your way to striker. They will pick up quickly, but don't skip the beginner steps that make their soccer knowledge foundation.

7. thepremierleague

Mar 14, 2001
    London
    Nat'l Team:
    England