Grade 6 State Futsal Referee

Discussion in 'Referee' started by Soccer is the best, Oct 16, 2017.

1. Soccer is the best

May 5, 2017
    Does anyone know anything about this grade? Currently Michigan does not offer this grade

2. tomek75

tomek75 Member+

Aug 13, 2012
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    It's same as with outdoor. State Futsal Referee. There are rumors that there might be National Futsal offered next year. I am a Grade 6 Futsal referee and in our state you need to pass one assessment on a competitive U16 or higher game and a fitness test. Here is a link to all the requirements in my state.

3. RefGil

RefGil Member

Dec 10, 2010
    Yikes. So you don't need to even have seen an adult futsal match to get a grade 6 badge? I don't even know how to respond.

4. akindc

akindc Member+

Jun 22, 2006
    Washington, DC
    I'm not sure what you mean. How is that any different from soccer?

5. fairplayforlife

fairplayforlife Member+

Mar 23, 2011
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I think the vast majority of states require at least a cursory familiarity with the adult game and all the nuances that come with it before they let a referee go for their state badge.

6. tomek75

tomek75 Member+

Aug 13, 2012
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    There is at least 1 men's futsal league in my area, but they follow USFF and I heard some horror stories about that league. We do have a healthy youth league in the winter time summer break. Additionally Futsal is still growing, so it's not readily available everywhere. In my area, indoor soccer is still more popular and the largest local indoor facilitie(s) (several arenas owned by the same place) is 100% against Futsal.

7. RefGil

RefGil Member

Dec 10, 2010
    The following will sound harsh, and I know I don't have all the info, but if there are no Adult Futsal leagues, then why do you need Grade 6 Futsal Referees?

8. tomek75

tomek75 Member+

Aug 13, 2012
    Nat'l Team:
    United States