Economics as a major?

Discussion in 'Education and Academia' started by Bonnie Lass, May 25, 2011.

1. Bonnie Lass

Bonnie Lass Moderator
    Staff Member

Lyon
    Norway
    Oct 20, 2000
    Up top
    Club:
    Olympique Lyonnais
    Well, print journalism's been fun (kinda) and I've been expanding into online crap, er, integration between print and web, but it's really time for me to move on. Plus, I never did get a degree the first time around, :eek: so I'm thinking now would be a good time to take care of that. (Heavy bills are all paid off.)

I've been batting around some ideas for the past several months, as far as majors go. I do *not* want to stay in journalism. Hell, I don't even want to stay in graphic design, which is what my original major was in. I want something completely different.

Anyway, what does everyone think about economics as a major? Is the market saturated? Is it flexible enough that there's plenty of employment opportunities? Would you say it's better than/equal to/less than a regular business degree?

Thanks, y'all. I've already done a bit of research online, but would like to hear some additional thoughts on it. :)

2. minorthreat

minorthreat Member

Jan 1, 2001
    NYC
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    Nat'l Team:
    Spain
    A common misconception about economics is that it's effectively a business or pre-business major. It isn't - there's a hell of a lot more math involved than most people realize, and a lot of people aren't prepared for that.

3. argentine soccer fan

Staff Member

Jan 18, 2001
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Club:
    CA Boca Juniors
    Nat'l Team:
    Argentina
    Any specific reason why you'd be choosing to study economics?

Funny, I'm an econ major and I often wish I had studied journalism and creative writing, because of my love for writing and linguistics.