Cutting A Travel Player

Discussion in 'Coach' started by amikavpar, Feb 14, 2017.

1. amikavpar

amikavpar Member

Sep 19, 2009
    Recently a friend of mine told me a head coach kicked a player off a local travel team (right as futsal season ended). The reason given was that the player was practicing with another older team (same club) in addition to her team. According to my friend, the player (U14 girl) never missed practice or games with her team. I've had some experience with moving players off travel teams with my daughter and remembered that in Maryland a team cannot kick off a player without a darn good reason (none of which were met here). I told my friend this and he informed the mother of the player who has already taken a complaint to MSYSA.

I'm curious, what should this mom expect from MSYSA. Do the state associations take disciplinary action in situations like this, or is it slap on the wrist type stuff?

I really want to prepare the mom for the most probable outcome. Obviously, this should have been taken care of at the club level before reaching this point. Travel "programs" in this town or ad-hoc at best, where teams are run independently by individual coaches. No real club oversight.

Thanks for any info.

2. nicklaino

nicklaino Member+

Feb 14, 2012
    Brooklyn, NY
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Once a player get signed to play in any league. The coach can not cut the player period.

However, the coach does not have to play the player. After a while the player will probably asked to leave so they can play for another club in that season. So the coach should give that player their release so they can.

If he refuses to give the player their release they have to wait for the new season to play for another club. Then you threaten to sue you will get the release.

3. amikavpar

amikavpar Member

Sep 19, 2009