Crash Course Thread...

Discussion in 'Coach' started by Coach Stew, Nov 19, 2016.

1. Coach Stew

Coach Stew Member

Nov 16, 2015
    To preface this thread, I am a girls high school coach in Florida. We play a 12 game game season (not including possible invitationals and district play) spread over nearly 3 months (holiday breaks, exams, etc). We have a mix of 18 players from semi-skilled club players all the way to girls that have never played. We currently play a 442 and we get about 30 practices a season.

Our season so far has been either way up or way down. We have lost 4 games by a combined score of 23-3 and won 2 by a combined 12-0. We are either better than them individually or we are not. Although, I will say in a 5-2 loss which I believe we would have otherwise won we sat half our starters for a half for missing practice. First half of that game was 4-0, then 2-1 in the second. Generally, as the coach, I take responsibility for this as I am fairly inexperienced and struggle to find that middle ground where training and strategy allows the entire team to be competitive against anyone we face. While I invest in trying to find answers I would like to use this thread to ask some general questions as they come to mind, possibly for years to come...

How do you go about organizing your team based on talent?
    How do you decide whether your organization is primarily compact or spread out? In other words, if you believe your team should be compact to help with defense, how do you incorporate this strategy in the attack phase?

Defensively, how do you counter speed, particularly in the back?
    Do you organize your defensive formation with landmarks?
    These questions kind of go together for me as we are slow and our midfield and back line get separated to the point defensive transition is nearly impossible.

2. Coach Stew

Coach Stew Member

Nov 16, 2015
    Development vs. Match Ready