Coaching license

Discussion in 'Coach' started by Peter Rival, Oct 4, 2016.

1. Peter Rival

Peter Rival Member

Oct 21, 2015
    I'm pretty new to this coaching thing, if you haven't figured that out from my previous posts. Kids and especially teenagers have always scared me until I finally had a couple of my own, so it has taken me a while to finally take the dive in as an assistant. This season has already been incredible and the rewards of watching the kids grow and, dare I say it, listen to me and succeed from that have been beyond measure. Yeah, I'm hooked, heaven help me.

How soon is too soon to consider looking into licenses? I've seen several organizations that offer a license, but I'm unclear as to which makes sense for someone coaching at the high school / U18 level. I originally came into this year intending to specialize on training goalkeepers but I've spent at least as much time working with the outfield players on positioning, awareness, responsibilities, and the like.

So far I've found NSCAA, USSF, and UEFA that offer licenses. Given that I'm in the US, I'd assume UEFA is out of the running, but would the appropriate license come from NSCAA, USSF, or some other organization I haven't yet found? Or am I putting the cart before the horse and should just spend a few more years patrolling the sidelines first?

2. rca2

rca2 Member+

Nov 25, 2005
    NSCAA teaches. USSF licenses. NSCAA has no motivation to fail anyone. USSF for whatever reason makes C, B and A licenses fairly exclusive and somewhat insular since they stopped accepting NSCAA diplomas as meeting prerequisites for license courses. It is easier if you are a former professional player or networked with your state organization. Recently USSF has even ignored USYSA coaching practices and gone in its own direction.