Class action lawsuit (sports media)

Discussion in 'TV, Satellite & Radio' started by danielmak, Aug 19, 2016.

1. danielmak

danielmak Member

Sep 26, 2004
    off the purple line
    I'm way late learning about this. Maybe others read the news, but three different sets of fans have seemingly won suits against NFL (a few years back) then NHL (recently) and then the last win was against MLB.

http://www.sbnation.com/mlb/2016/2/...details-extra-innings-mlb-tv-packages-cheaper

I wonder if there's some way to sue a network like Fox based on the idea that you pay for services yet they strategically hold back other games to show on FStoGo. So, if one pays for FS1 and 2, FS+, and Deportes via satellite/cable yet that's not the full extent of the content. Same for BeIN. You pay for HD services through cable/satellite yet more content is pushed to connect that in theory requires another subscription to cable Internet. I'm not a lawyer so maybe the cases against NFL, NHL, and MLB were very different. Any lawyers among the group?

2. billf

billf Member+

May 22, 2001
    Club:
    Philadelphia Union
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Those suits dealt with premium packages that give you access to all league games via extra channels or online. There's only so many hours of content you can show on a tv channel and only so much capacity on a content provider so you can't show everything. The leagues themselves were sued as well. Who do you sue here?

3. Art Deco

Art Deco Member

Dec 10, 2009