Careers Involving Game Theory?

Discussion in 'Education and Academia' started by EvanJ, Feb 13, 2011.

1. EvanJ

EvanJ Member+

Manchester United
    United States
    Mar 30, 2004
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Does anybody use game theory in his or her job? I have a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and a minor in Political Science from Hofstra University. I have had the same low-paying part time job that doesn't use what I learned in college for about three years. I'm not in a hurry to leave my current job and actually have a reason why I would like to keep it through June 2012, but eventually I would like a higher salary. I know some introductory statistics and calculus and given a textbook I could reteach myself some of what I learned and forgot. I would like a career that uses numbers but not an accountant. How easy is game theory to learn? Has anybody gotten a degree entirely online that included a significant amount of game theory? I don't want a Doctorate degree because I don't want to write a giant paper.

2. atomicbloke

atomicbloke Member+

Dec 7, 2009
    Berkeley, CA
    Club:
    CA Boca Juniors
    I use game theory in designing algorithms.

3. EvanJ

EvanJ Member+

Manchester United
    United States
    Mar 30, 2004
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I just ordered Game Theory and the Law by Douglas Baird, Robert Gertner, and Randal Picker. Has anybody read that book?

4. EvanJ

EvanJ Member+

Manchester United
    United States
    Mar 30, 2004
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Does anybody have a link to an American college or university that offers one or two courses in game theory entirely online without requiring the student to be pursuing a degree? I would consider both undergraduate and graduate classes.

5. Ismitje

Ismitje Super Moderator

Dec 30, 2000
    The Palouse
    Club:
    Real Salt Lake
    Nat'l Team: