Building a Youth Soccer Association

Discussion in 'Coach' started by Dakota Soccer, Feb 15, 2011.

1. Dakota Soccer

Dakota Soccer Member

Dec 30, 2010
    Club:
    FC Dallas
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I've been asked by our town's soccer association to come up with a competitive philosophy and action plan to help the quality of soccer improve. I'm a college coach who has only recently been involved in the youth game, and I feel very ill prepared for this. I've done camps ever since I started coaching with U5-U19, and I have my National Y, but day in and day out working with real young teams is not something I've been involved in. This is why I joined the forum, and I've gotten some great stuff from a lot of you regarding the youth game. Any suggestions would be great!

Here's some background: Our city has one soccer organization, and two high schools. In a city of 15,000 we have about 500 youth players in K-6 soccer that is currently run by our city's park and rec department. The older kids are organized by the association (approx. 70 boys and girls). My college players coach the city youth players during the rec season, and my assistant coach and I have been involved in coaching the older players. The association has asked me to reorganize our approach to soccer. Right now we have volunteer coaches at all levels, and to my knowledge none of our coaches ever played. The two U12 coaches have an E license and I help them develop their trainings. The U14/U16/U19 teams have been coached by my assistant and I for the past year and a half.

The basic problem is that our level of soccer is probably the worse in the state for a city our size (in South Dakota if you're over 10,000 your considered a big city). The two high school teams regularly finish at the bottom of the state standings for their two divisions, and they get murdered like 10-0, or 14-0 regularly.