Anyone pay for 343coaching? How do you like it?

Discussion in 'Coach' started by Soccer Dad & Ref, Dec 27, 2018.

1. Soccer Dad & Ref

Oct 19, 2017
    San Diego
    I've been listening to a lot of podcasts lately, and researching websites for tricks and tips and coaching materials. I found the 3FOUR3 guys, and am impressed with the way they talk and the style of play they are teaching. I like that they aren't trying to sell books with 1,000 drills, etc. My mind can't wrap around that many drills!

Has anyone bought the membership? How was the 1st year stuff? How much did it help you? Were you a newer coach, or a well-experienced one? Rec or club? What age kids did you use it with?

2. elessar78

elessar78 Moderator
    Staff Member

May 12, 2010
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    I like it. Have you watched their free stuff already? Helped immensely.

I would say I have a lot of experience. Club level. Experience with beginners kicking the ball for the first time (age 4–6) up to mid-teens.

What age kids do you use it with? I've used it with age 7 and it goes well*—it's ugly as hell at first but you have to stick with it. It stays "ugly" for a bit because at age 7, you DO need to work other areas. With that age group, we worked with it sporadically from August through December of that year. From January on, I could see flashes of it in matches, but not every match. There would be sequences several times throughout the game where they string together 1-2 touch passes on the ground all the way up the field. But over the years, your goal is to build consistency—so those infrequent sequences of 1-2 touch passes start stitching themselves together into longer passages of play.

But more importantly, it's a methodology, a mindset that you get. The guys who started 3four3, found a style they believed in and studied from the master (Bielsa) and developed a way to teach it. Take it, tweak it—apply it to your specific situation.