Alright you college professor people. I need advice.

Discussion in 'Education and Academia' started by Jacen McCullough, Nov 5, 2005.

1. Jacen McCullough

Nov 23, 1998
    Maryland
    OK. Here's the situation (parents went away for a week's vacation...sorry. Fans of bad/goofy 80's music will understand that). I currently hold a BS in English/Secondary Education and a boatload of student loan debt. I have a decent gig teaching high school English. Eventually (ie: in the next 5 to 10 years), I would like to be in a position to move on and teach at the college level. Obviously, for me to do that, I need to get the higher level degrees. In terms of getting into good schools, I don't think it would be too big of a problem (I graduated with honors, write a good essay and test well). My problem at the moment is $$$. I'm well up against the limit of what I can borrow from the government, and I owe too much to the government to have no income (which means I can't do the "Teach undergrad classes for free/discounted tuition" gig, because I can't quit my teaching job due to bills).

From what I can see, the best situation for me is to get my masters at the same school as my undergrad (it's nearby, and, with tuition reimbursement, it would literally be free). While I did that, I would be able to save up some cash so that, in 3 years or so, I COULD take a year or two off from my current job to go after some/most of my PhD at a good school. Anyone have any other suggestions besides this?