2020 US Open Cup qualifying thread

Discussion in 'US Open Cup' started by newtex, Aug 13, 2019.

  1. newtex

    newtex Member+

    May 25, 2005
    Houston Dynamo
    The deadline to enter the 2020 Local Qualifying Tournament was August 12.

    Upcoming schedule

    Wednesday, August 21: Approved teams announced.
    Monday, August 26: First round pairings announced.
    Sat-Sun, Sept. 21-22: First qualifying round
    Sat-Sun, Oct. 19-20: Second qualifying round
    Sat-Sun, Nov. 23-24: Third qualifying round
    Thursday, January 9: Allocation of 2020 U.S. Open Cup slots announced.
  2. newtex

    newtex Member+

    May 25, 2005
    Houston Dynamo
    This article has a link to the 2020 Open Division handbook:


    The Handbook says:

    "Teams advancing from Open Division qualifying (whether via the Local Qualifying or National Leagues track) will enter the 2020 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup in the First Round, tentatively scheduled for midMarch or early April 2020."

    That seems unlikely. I can't imagine that they would start the Open Cup that early. Many of the amateur teams wouldn't even have their players together.
  3. newtex

    newtex Member+

    May 25, 2005
    Houston Dynamo
    2020 teams that have qualified based on last year's allotments and what we know about next year.
    NOTE: All of this is dependent on teams qualifying according to USSF rules, past practices, and a lot of conjecture.

    2019 National Amateur Cup champion: Newtown Pride (CT)

    Local Qualifying Tournament (7 teams in 2019): TBD

    NPSL: (14 teams in 2019)
    1. Miami FC
    2. New York Cosmos B
    3. ASC San Diego
    4. Cleveland SC
    5. Tulsa Athletic
    6. FC Arizona
    7. Detroit City
    8. FC Motown/Atlantic City FC (NJ)
    9. Midland-Odessa Sockers (TX)
    10. FC Davis (CA)
    11. Minneapolis City
    12. Chattanooga FC
    13. Brooklyn Italians
    14. Crossfire Redmond (WA)
    15. Med City FC (MN)
    16. Naples United (FL)
    17. FC Golden West (CA)
    18. Atlantic City FC/West Chester United (PA)
    19. Duluth FC (MN)
    20. Denton Diablos (TX)

    USL League Two: (10 teams in 2019)
    1. Des Moines Menace
    2. Western Mass Pioneers
    3. FC Golden State Force (CA)
    4. Brazos Valley Cavalry FC (TX)
    5. Reading United AC (PA)
    6. Colorado Pride Switchbacks
    7. South Georgia Tormenta FC 2
    8. The Villages SC (FL)
    9. Chicago FC United
    10. North Carolina Fusion U23
    11. GPS Portland Phoenix (ME)
    12. SC United Bantams (SC)
    13. Ventura County Fusion (CA)
    14. Flint City Bucks (MI)
    15. Corpus Christi FC (TX)
    16. Treasure Coast Tritons (FL)
    17. Sounders FC U23 (WA)
    18. Kaw Valley FC (KS)
    19. Daytona SC (FL)
    20. Manhattan SC (NY)

    And then all of the U.S. based pro division teams that are not owned by higher divisions teams. Right now that looks like this:

    NISA: 8 teams
    USL League One: 9 teams (6 current plus 3 expansion)
    USL Championship: 24 teams
    MLS: 23 teams (21 current plus 2 expansion)
    soccersubjectively repped this.
  4. newtex

    newtex Member+

    May 25, 2005
    Houston Dynamo
    We already have one change. NISA is up to 10 teams at the moment with Chattanooga and Detroit City joining in 2020. There could be a couple more by the spring.

    That brings the total number in the professional leagues up to 66 teams at this point. That's twice as many as in 2012. We'll see what happens.
  5. newtex

    newtex Member+

    May 25, 2005
    Houston Dynamo
    The list of approved entrants in the Local Qualifying tournament is out and the schedule.


    There are 89 teams that will be competing for an unknown number of slots. That includes 36 new teams that have not entered before. First round pairings will be announced on August 26.

    2020 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup
    Open Division Local Qualifying Schedule

    First Qualifying Round: Sept. 21-23
    Second Qualifying Round: Oct. 19-20
    Third Qualifying Round: Nov. 23-24
    Fourth Qualifying Round (if necessary): Dec. 21-22

    League and other information is at the linked story.

    California (20)
    Academica SC*; Turlock, CA
    Olympic Club; San Francisco, CA
    Chula Vista FC; Chula Vista, CA
    L.A. Monsters FC; Irvine, CA
    Outbreak FC; Long Beach, CA
    Quickening; Palmdale, CA
    Rebels Soccer Club; Chula Vista, CA
    SC Trojans FC; Los Angeles, CA
    Alta California Sol; Santa Barbara, CA
    Cal FC*; Wilmington, CA
    Contra Costa FC; Walnut Creek, CA
    JASA RWC; Redwood City, CA
    Newport FC; Lake Forest, CA
    Oakland Stompers; Oakland, CA
    Oxnard Guerreros FC; Oxnard, CA
    PV United; Watsonville, CA
    Real San Jose; San Jose, CA
    Santa Monica United FC; Santa Monica, CA
    USA Soccer Stars FC; Glendale, CA
    Valley United SC; North Hills, CA

    Colorado (10)
    Athletic Club of Sloan’s Lake; Lakewood, CO
    Azteca FC; Broomfield, CO
    Club El Azul; Broomfield, CO
    Colorado Rovers; Broomfield, CO
    FC Boulder Harpos; Boulder, CO
    FC Denver*; Aurora, CO
    FC Union Jerez; Broomfield, CO
    Colorado Rush; Lakewood, CO
    Logroñes Denver Soccer Club; Denver, CO
    Gam United FC; Denver, CO

    District of Columbia (1)
    Federal City Wanderers; Washington, DC

    Florida (8)
    Orlando FC Wolves; Orlando, FL
    Atletico Miami CF; Miami, FL
    Deportivo Lake Mary; Sanford, FL
    Florida Soccer Soldiers*; Miramar, FL
    Hurricane FC; Delray Beach, FL
    International Soccer Association: Miami, FL
    Miami United FC U23; Miami, FL
    Red Force FC; Miami, FL

    Georgia (2)
    Club ATLetic; Atlanta, GA
    Georgia Revolution FC Reserves; Locust Grove, GA

    Illinois (1)
    Springfield FC; Springfield, IL

    Louisiana (2)
    Louisiana Krewe FC; Lafayette, LA
    Northshore United; Mandeville, LA

    Maryland (5)
    Christos FC; Ferndale, MD
    Izee Auto FC; Columbia, MD
    Steel Pulse FC; Windsor Mill, MD
    FC Millenium International; Hyattsville, MD
    World Class Premier Elite FC; Boyds, MD

    Massachusetts (4)
    Brockton FC United; Brockton, MA
    Kendall Wanderers; Cambridge, MA
    Juve-Pro Soccer; Ashland, MA
    Safira FC; Sommerville, MA

    Michigan (3)
    Ann Arbor FC; Ann Arbor, MI
    Livonia City FC; Livonia, MI
    Wayne County Sporting; Riverview, MI

    New Jersey (3)
    CSA Westchester; Tinton Falls, NJ
    Clifton Elite FC; Clifton, NJ
    Jackson Lions FC; Jackson, NJ

    New York (2)
    Lansdowne Yonkers FC; Yonkers, NY
    New York Pancyprian Freedoms^; Queens, NY

    Oregon (1)
    International Portland Select (IPS)/Marathon Taverna; Portland, OR

    Pennsylvania (7)
    Steel FC; Pittsburgh, PA
    Tartan Devils Oak Avalon; Pittsburgh, PA
    Danubia Swabian; Philadelphia, PA
    Ukrainian Nationals; North Wales, PA
    United German Hungarians; Oakford, PA
    Vereinigung Erzgebirge; Warminster, PA
    West Chester United*; West Chester, PA

    South Carolina (2)
    Soda City Sorinex FC; Columbia, SC
    Charleston United; Charleston, SC

    Tennessee (1)
    Nashville United; Murfreesboro, TN

    Texas (10)
    Celtic Cowboys Premier; Austin, TX
    Central Texas Lobos; Austin, TX
    NTX Rayados*; Balch Springs, TX
    Athletic Katy FC; Houston, TX
    Coyotes FC; Temple, TX
    FC Fort Worth Soccer Club; Forth Worth, TX
    Houston FC; Houston, TX
    Inocentes Futbol Club; Forth Worth, TX
    Lone Star Republic; Addison, TX
    San Antonio Runners; San Antonio, TX

    Utah (1)
    San Juan FC; Herriman, UT

    Virginia (6)
    SOCA; Charlottesville, VA
    Alianza Futbol Club; Woodbridge, VA
    CD Huateras; Woodbridge, VA
    Doradus FC; Fairfax County, VA
    Germantown City FC; Woodbridge, VA
    Virginia United*; Woodbridge, VA

Share This Page