2014 World Cup - tips on going?

Discussion in 'USA Men: Fans & Travel' started by PumaJohnny, Apr 27, 2012.

1. PumaJohnny

PumaJohnny Member

Nov 30, 2001
    Draper
    Club:
    Real Salt Lake
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Hi All,

I'm new to travelling to watch the team play. I would like to go to Brazil for 2014 and have some basic questions for anyone who is nice enough to answer them:

Does joining Sam's Army or American Outlaws help with getting tickets and group rates for airlines/hotels?

How do you time everything? Ideally, I'd like to see our US players, but as their WC Qualifying games determine when and where they play, how do you plan accordingly?

For anyone who has gone to WC to see the Nats, any other suggestions?

Any things not to do?

Thanks in advance to anyone who has a chance to answer this.

Johnny

2. Well, the questions are broad, but I can tell you what was helpful to me and what I learned.

Yes, join AO and SA and even the USSF's soccer supporters groups. They're inexpensive and are an invaluable source of information and networking. I'm most familiar with AO, which has ticket, flight, and hotel discounts. SA seems to come up with good stuff as WCs near, and the USSF group can get you discounts on US soccer merchandise (jackets, jerseys, etc.).

Next, there are some very experienced travelers who post frequently on these forums. ASK THEM QUESTIONS AND LISTEN TO THEIR ANSWERS. The ones off the top of my head are rksehga and thethinwhiteduke, but I'm sure there are others. You may have different travel preferences/budgets, but these guys will not steer you wrong on the major aspects (safety, equipment, parts of town, game atmosphere, etc.).