2014 FIFA World Cup™ 3rd Place: Brazil vs Netherlands, pre-game discussion.

Discussion in 'World Cup 2014 - Knockout Rounds' started by puyol, Jul 10, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puyol

puyol Member+

FC Barcelona
    Dec 24, 2009
    Club:
    FC Barcelona
    I know no one gives a **** but here it is :cautious:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal says having to complete a World Cup third-place play-off match is "unfair".

"This match should never be played. I've been saying that for 10 years; it's unfair," said Van Gaal,

"There is only one award that counts and that is becoming world champions."

Van Gaal added: "The worst thing is that there is a chance you are going to lose twice in a row.

"And in a tournament in which you have played so marvellously well you go home as a loser.

[​IMG]

"Life goes on, we need to look forward to our next goal, and our next goal is to win the match for third place," Scolari said. "We have to play it. It has become our main goal."

"The players' lives won't end because of this loss. It happened and from now on they will continue being the players that they are," Scolari said. "They will continue playing for Brazil and we will continue to be one of the best teams in the world. Probably many of these players will play for Brazil in 2018."

"We have to be professional and we have to show our character," midfielder Fernandinho said. "We need to get through these three days and play well on Saturday to try to finish third."

soccernutter repped this.
  2. glennaldo_sf

glennaldo_sf Member+

Houston Dynamo, Penang FC, Al Duhail
    United States
    Nov 25, 2004
    Doha, Qatar
    Club:
    FL Fart Vang Hedmark
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    To be honest, normally I'm not too bothered by 3rd place games, but for this one I'm quite intrigued to see how Brazil react... and Holland of course.... in order for Holland to get one over their rival Germany - they'll have to hit at least 8...