2012 CONCACAF Player of the Year (EDITED – WITH WINNERS!)

Posted on December 11, 2012 10:51 am

A lot of people don’t realize the proud and distinguished history of this award.  Long considered the poor relation of world soccer, the nations of North America, Central America and the Caribbean have provided some of the most legendary names and some of the greatest performances in the game.  And yet, it’s commonly thought that CONCACAF doesn’t even recognize its best players.

Well, over the years, I’ve addressed that misconception.  The Ballon d’Or has become a snooty circle-jerk, pretending that the soccer world doesn’t exist outside two cities in Spain.  FIFA’s female player of the year voting has been worthless. 

The CONCACAF Player of the Year award, on the other hand, is the one award that both reaches out to today’s fans and celebrates the region’s history. 

Now it’s your turn to voice your opinion.  Who was the region’s best this year?

Chicharito and Alex Morgan.  Okay, then, that was easy.  See you next year!


Massive reader input – polite and well-reasoned, which, well, I just don’t know how to deal with – has changed my heart.  Congratulations to Oribe Peralta of Santos Laguna.

And, on second thought, I’m going to go with Christine Sinclair after all.  I’m too biased towards Americans, Morgan padded her stats with recent big totals over scrubs, and I kind of thought the Olympic gold required an American rep here, but why?  Sinclair’s supporting cast really was worse by a long shot.  Also I want to troll USWNT fans.

CONCACAF PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Historical winners

Male Player of the Year:
1916: Thomas Swords, Fall River Rovers/United States
1917: Thomas Swords, Fall River Rovers/United States
1918: Harry Ratican, Bethlehem Steel/United States
1919: John “Jock” Ferguson, Bethlehem Steel/United States
1920: Jimmy Dunn, St. Louis Ben Millers/United States
1921: Harold Brittan, Philadelphia Field Club/England
1922: Harold Brittan, Philadelphia Field Club/England
1923: Tommy “Whitey” Fleming, J&P Coats/Scotland
1924: Archie Stark, Bethlehem Steel/United States
1925: Archie Stark, Bethlehem Steel/United States
1926: James “Tec” White, Fall River Marksmen/Scotland
1927: Davie Brown, New York Giants/United States
1928: Barney Battles, Boston Wonder Workers/United States
1929: James “Tec” White, Fall River Marksmen/Scotland
1930: Bert Patenaude, Fall River Marksmen/United States
1931: Billy Gonsalves, New York Yankees/United States
1932: Bert Patenaude, New York Giants/United States
1933: Billy Gonsalves, St. Louis Stix, Baer & Fuller/United States
1934: Aldo “Buff” Donelli, Curry Silver Tops/United States
1935: Hilario “Moco” Lopez, Necaxa/Mexico
1936: Joe Kennaway, Glasgow Celtic/Canada
1937: Joe Kennaway, Glasgow Celtic/Canada
1938: Joe Kennaway, Glasgow Celtic/Canada
1939: Bert Patenaude, Philadelphia Passon/United States
1940: Charley Ernst, Baltimore FC/United States
1941: Martin Vantolra, Atlante/Spain
1942: Rafael “Tico” Meza, Moctezuma/Costa Rica
1943: Manuel Alonso, Marte/Mexico
1944: Billy Gonsalves, Brooklyn Hispano/United States
1945: Roberto Aballay, Asturias/Argentina
1946: Isidro Langara, Espana/Spain
1947: Adalberto “Dumbo” Lopez, Leon/Mexico
1948: Adalberto “Dumbo” Lopez, Leon/Mexico
1949: Adalberto “Dumbo” Lopez, Leon/Mexico
1950: Frank Borghi, St. Louis Simpkins Ford/United States
1951: Jack Cowan, Dundee FC/Canada
1952: Alex Sanchez Cruz “El Nene”, Saprissa/Costa Rica
1953: Antonio Carbajal, Leon/Mexico
1954: Jose Luis Lamadrid, Necaxa/Mexico
1955: Julio Palleiro, Necaxa/Uruguay
1956: Antonio Carbajal, Leon/Mexico
1957: Antonio Carbajal, Leon/Mexico
1958: Carlos “Charro” Lara, Zacatepec/Argentina
1959: Errol Crossan, Norwich City/Canada
1960: Salvador Reyes, Guadalajara/Mexico
1961: Antonio Carbajal, Leon/Mexico
1962: Salvador Reyes, Guadalajara/Mexico
1963: Amaury Epaminondas, Oro/Brazil
1964: Jose Cardona, Atletico Madrid/Honduras
1965: Jose Cardona, Atletico Madrid/Honduras
1966: Jose Alves “Zague”, Club America/Brazil
1967: Amaury Epaminondas, Toluca/Brazil
1968: Fernando “El Principe” Hernandez, Saprissa/Costa Rica
1969: Gustavo “Halcon” Pena, Cruz Azul/Mexico
1970: Ignacio Calderon, Guadalajara/Mexico
1971: Enrique Borja, Club America/Mexico
1972: Horacio Lopez Salgado, Cruz Azul/Mexico
1973: Javier “Kaliman” Guzman, Cruz Azul/Mexico
1974: Emmanuel “Manno” Sanon, Don Bosco Petion-Ville/Haiti
1975: Cabinho, UNAM/Brazil
1976: Pele, New York Cosmos/Brazil
1977: Franz Beckenbauer, New York Cosmos/West Germany
1978: Cristobal Ortega, Club America/Mexico
1979: Bob Lenarduzzi, Vancouver Whitecaps/Canada
1980: Giorgio Chinaglia, New York Cosmos/Italy
1981: Jorge “Magico” Gonzalez, C.D. FAS/El Salvador
1982: Gilberto Yearwood, Real Valladolid/Honduras
1983: Victor Moreland, Tulsa Roughnecks/Northern Ireland
1984: Rick Davis, New York Cosmos/United States
1985: Hugo Sanchez, Real Madrid/Mexico
1986: Hugo Sanchez, Real Madrid/Mexico
1987: Hugo Sanchez, Real Madrid/Mexico
1988: Hugo Sanchez, Real Madrid/Mexico
1989: Paul Caligiuri, Hansa Rostock/United States
1990: Hugo Sanchez, Real Madrid/Mexico
1991: Hugo Perez, United States
1992: Claudio Suarez, UNAM/Mexico
1993: Luis Roberto Alves “Zague,” Necaxa/Mexico
1994: Tab Ramos, Real Betis/United States
1995: Alexi Lalas, Padova/United States
1996: Marco Etcheverry, DC United/Bolivia
1997: Carlos Hermosillo, Cruz Azul/Mexico
1998: Luis Hernandez, Necaxa/Mexico
1999: Dwight Yorke, Manchester United/Trinidad & Tobago
2000: Rafael Marquez, AS Monaco/Mexico
2001: Paolo Wanchope, Manchester City/Costa Rica
2002: Brad Friedel, Blackburn Rovers/United States
2003: Landon Donovan, San Jose Earthquakes/United States
2004: Roberto Brown, FC Sheriff (Moldova)/Panama
2005: Kasey Keller, Borussia Moenchengladbach/United States
2006: Oswaldo Sanchez, Guadalajara/Mexico
2007: Pavel Pardo, Stuttgart/Mexico
2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto, Columbus Crew/Argentina
2009: Landon Donovan, Los Angeles Galaxy/United States
2010: Landon Donovan, Los Angeles Galaxy/United States
2011: Javier “Chicharito” Hernandez, Manchester United/Mexico
2012: Oribe Peralta, Santos Laguna/Mexico

Female Player of the Year:
1985: Sharon Remer, United States
1986: April Heinrichs, United States
1987: Carin Jennings, United States
1988: Joy Biefeld (Fawcett), United States
1989: April Heinrichs, United States
1990: Michelle Akers-Stahl, United States
1991: Michelle Akers-Stahl, United States
1992: Carin Gabarra, United States
1993: Kristine Lilly, United States
1994: Mia Hamm, United States
1995: Mia Hamm, United States
1996: Mia Hamm, United States
1997: Mia Hamm, United States
1998: Mia Hamm, United States
1999: Michelle Akers, United States
2000: Tiffeny Milbrett, United States
2001: Tiffeny Milbrett, New York Power/United States
2002: Birgit Prinz, Carolina Courage/Germany
2003: Maren Meinert, Boston Breakers/Germany
2004: Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom/United States
2005: Christine Sinclair, University of Portland/Canada
2006: Kristine Lilly, United States
2007: Abby Wambach, United States
2008: Hope Solo, United States
2009: Christie Rampone, Sky Blue FC/United States
2010: Christine Sinclair, FC Gold Pride/Canada
2011: Abby Wambach, United States
2012: Christine Sinclair, Canada

(Yeah, I know, I thought I had lost this when I gave up my vanity site.  But it lives!  You guys won’t appreciate this – nor should you – but to this day I agonize about Magico over Karl-Heinz Granitza.)

    • Manchester United 13/14 EVRA Home Soccer Jersey$87.44
    • Mexico Originals T-Shirt$34.99
    • Japan 2014 Anthem Jacket$69.99
    • Chelsea Mourinho Air Freshener$4.99
    • Manchester United Giggs Poster$14.99

    Popular Store Items

    Popular Posts

    Latest from the Forum

    About Big Soccer

    Copyright © 2011 Big Internet Group, LLC. All rights reserved. Click here for our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Views expressed by the bloggers and users of BigSoccer do not represent the views of Big Internet Group, LLC.