PDA

View Full Version : All time fake ebay jerseys


Pages : [1] 2

halfnelson31
03 Jan 2004, 10:07 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3650126379&category=20865#ebayphotohosting

house18
03 Jan 2004, 10:12 PM
Durapink and Vitamoon (possibly an earlier version of Durapink) have fakes that are so bad, no maker logo and sometimes they are not even correct, look at his USA jerseys.

giggs88
03 Jan 2004, 10:31 PM
they aren't fake jerseys. because there is no logo. Durapink and Pimanka are the same.

Best fakes = thainet

Vitmoon and durapink are totally different. Pimanka and Durapink are the same.

nyrmetros
07 Jan 2004, 04:53 PM
There are some reealy BAD fake jerseys out there on E-bay.....

Fez
09 Jan 2004, 08:06 PM
What's the best way to spot a fake jersey if you aren't up on the latest versions?

house18
09 Jan 2004, 08:12 PM
I usually will open another navigator page and pull up a pic from the club shop or a reputable seller like subside. A big thing on the far east ones on ebay (bangkok, thailand, etc.) is look for the company logo. The ones mentioned above don't have the adidas, Nike, Umbro, etc. logo on it. I also look at the feedback. A good way is also to check with people on here, a lot of us have bought stuff on ebay.

AndyMead
09 Jan 2004, 09:29 PM
Originally posted by Fez
What's the best way to spot a fake jersey if you aren't up on the latest versions?

You find it on eBay.

giggs88
10 Jan 2004, 10:12 AM
more good advice



mostly all NEW jerseys under 20 dolllars from a seller is goin to be fake.

nyrmetros
10 Jan 2004, 03:28 PM
Originally posted by house18
I usually will open another navigator page and pull up a pic from the club shop or a reputable seller like subside.

I use this method all the time. It's a very reliable method to spot the really bad fake jerseys. But some fake jerseys are very hard to identify....

Labdarugo
11 Jan 2004, 01:59 PM
You know what they say:

"If it seems to good to be true ... "

Nacional Tijuana
11 Jan 2004, 02:25 PM
I cringe every time I go to a Riverhounds jersey and I see my friend who has a Puebla jersey. I do to, and I bought it on bigsoccer's shop, and it matches all the FSW Report clips I've seen of the club: VW logo on front, 3 Hermanos fisheries logo and Sol beer logo on back. But my friend bought one on EBay that had all of the aforementioned sponsors on the front of the jersey! It was a pretty good looking jersey, but I'd never buy one I knew was fake. I'd always go to the club shop first.

house18
11 Jan 2004, 05:38 PM
Originally posted by Nacional Tijuana
I cringe every time I go to a Riverhounds jersey and I see my friend who has a Puebla jersey. I do to, and I bought it on bigsoccer's shop, and it matches all the FSW Report clips I've seen of the club: VW logo on front, 3 Hermanos fisheries logo and Sol beer logo on back. But my friend bought one on EBay that had all of the aforementioned sponsors on the front of the jersey! It was a pretty good looking jersey, but I'd never buy one I knew was fake. I'd always go to the club shop first.

I agree with supporting your club, but not everyone can afford to spend $80-$100 on a jersey that in two years will be obsolete. I have compared the "real" fakes that I have purcased on ebay and in all but one case (the inside layer on a double layer jersey) they have been exactly the same as the real thing. These "real" fakes have often been made in the same factory as the real thing or across the street with materials from the same vedors. In other words the exact same thing, except the money not going to the real company (Nike, adidas, etc.) Sorry to repeat this again, but I think it is worth mentioning in this thread.

Kryptonite
15 Jan 2004, 12:46 PM
I saw one on ebay that was half USA (white) and half Mexico (green).

The bottom of the back of the jersey said something like "MEXI UNIDOS" or something. So fake, it was faker than fake.

eric515
15 Jan 2004, 12:53 PM
Since we are ripping the far eastern guys...I will give one a thumbs up. I have purchased 4 jerseys from him (Brum Kirovski, Blackburn, Ajax O'brien, Juventus Davids), and all of them are reasonable facsimiles of the real thing, and they have the outifitters logos on them, too. He actually has a website http://ea545.com , where you can contact him directly.

Usually, you will end up spending about $30+ with shipping, etc. He is the only guy I would buy from, other than a place like kitbag or official sites. I imagine he gets the stuff at cost, and sells it at rock-bottom prices. I got the Ajax and Brum custom lettered...and Brum had the actual EPL fonts.

Ender
15 Jan 2004, 12:59 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2779808043&category=2888

this is the worst

655321
15 Jan 2004, 01:09 PM
I once saw a Liverpool "jersey" that was in West Ham / Aston Villa colors. It was horrid.

On another note, some fake jerseys can be kind of cool. There's one guy who sells a Liverpool jersey that has the word "Liverpool" written across it in the same font that "Carlsberg" is in normally. Once at a San Francisco Giants game I saw a guy with a jersey that said "Los Gigantes" rather than "Giants". He refused to tell me where he got it.

Liverpool_SC
15 Jan 2004, 01:26 PM
I have gotten several 'Pool jerseys with the works. They even come with the Reebok tags (including the Liverpoolfc.tv tag and contest) and whatever they call their patented moisture removal system (hydrofoil or something) logo on the lower edge. My Harry Kewell away jersey came with authentic felt numbers & name (with EPL logo) and the EPL patches.

I generally pay around $30 including s&h and I am pretty confident I am getting authentic, though possibly gray market stuff.

One of the sellers explained to me that workers are permitted to make x amount of "extras" using "spoiled" fabric (it may only be part of the bolt that is spoiled) and stuff like that. They pay cost for making the shirts (on their own time) and sell them on their own. Some of them are obvious seconds (they will even mention if it has a dye mark or some abnormality in many of the auctions).

Some manufacturers (i.e. Adobe software company) are very aggressive in searching ebay for any auctions that smell fishy and having them cancelled. I would assume that if EPL (and other) clubs were being ripped off by their own suppliers - that they would seek to collect damages. If Liverpool ever posted something suggesting that they these suppliers were violating contract and image rights, then I would probably not buy any more of these shirts. But I have never seen any criticism (the way I have for computer software and DVD pirates).

That being said, if there is any illegality in it, I think it is far worse for someone to make an almost-authentic (using the actual patches and stuff) than to make an obvious fake with logos and patches you design yourself. But then again, I don't know if Liverpool's licensing rights even extend to all of the overseas markets (such as the US).

Motterman
15 Jan 2004, 03:02 PM
Here's a good one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3653586918&category=2914

Oh, and:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3653269792&category=20865

Gotta love this famous team:

Go Coors!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2882063823&category=14879

nyrmetros
17 Jan 2004, 09:02 PM
Chelsea and Coors and Umbro? Was that ever a real combination ?

Liverpool_SC
20 Jan 2004, 03:03 PM
Originally posted by NYR Metros
Chelsea and Coors and Umbro? Was that ever a real combination ?

Coors owns a couple of popular brewery labels in England (Worthington of Worthington Cup fame, for instance). At one time they marketed beer under their own label but later decided to market under a different name.