PDA

View Full Version : United Jerseys on EBay


Pages : [1] 2

Pennyfan01
04 Jan 2005, 04:11 PM
I saw a post a few weeks ago that United jerseys were on eBay but they only had two stripes across the chest. Well the knockoffs have been improved and actually look fairly close. Not that some true fans would wear a knockoff jersey but if you are like me and your 10 year old wants every soccer jersey he can get his hands on you buy some on eBay for 9.99 He'll probably end up with one of these.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7123939938&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT

nyrmetros
05 Jan 2005, 01:24 AM
Let's play a game of spot the real (replica or authentic) jersey............

http://search.ebay.com/DC-United_W0QQsofocusZbsQQsbrftogZ1QQfromZR10QQsatitleZQ22DCQ20UnitedQ22QQcatrefZC6QQsotrtypeZ1QQsotrvalueZ1QQsosortpropertyZ1QQcoactionZcompareQQcopagenumZ1QQcoentrypageZsearch

neilgrossman
05 Jan 2005, 09:31 AM
Too bad they're bootleg. They actually have long-sleeve jerseys.

By the way, I'm at post 999. Why aren't there any good discussions going on? I'd hate to have post 1,000 be about something crappy like knockoff jerseys.

mcontento
05 Jan 2005, 10:44 AM
Too bad they're bootleg. They actually have long-sleeve jerseys.

By the way, I'm at post 999. Why aren't there any good discussions going on? I'd hate to have post 1,000 be about something crappy like knockoff jerseys.


Once you reach 1005 you realize just how unimportant #1000 is.

Diablo10
05 Jan 2005, 10:51 AM
Heck,

I'm only on 215! So, I'm not even thinking of 100 yet. Guess I don't have as muc free time as most ofyou others who post on BS! :D

Diablo10
05 Jan 2005, 10:52 AM
Make that 217 now! :D :D

beltwayrob
05 Jan 2005, 12:21 PM
Heck,

I'm only on 215! So, I'm not even thinking of 100 yet. Guess I don't have as muc free time as most ofyou others who post on BS! :D

Some of us are lucky enough to have jobs that don't pay much attention to us. Or we are just really sneaky. :cool:

On topic, I hate those damn fake jerseys from God knows where... Once in a while there is a good find on EBay, I've one a nice one from the 2000 season. But the funniest part is, you look at the names of the people bidding on them, they are almost always from the DC area!

nyrmetros
05 Jan 2005, 01:11 PM
Let's play a game of spot the real (replica or authentic) jersey............

http://search.ebay.com/DC-United_W0QQsofocusZbsQQsbrftogZ1QQfromZR10QQsatitleZQ22DCQ20UnitedQ22QQcatrefZC6QQsotrtypeZ1QQsotrvalueZ1QQsosortpropertyZ1QQcoactionZcompareQQcopagenumZ1QQcoentrypageZsearch
What..... none of you want to play ???

Knave
05 Jan 2005, 01:15 PM
By the way, I'm at post 999. Why aren't there any good discussions going on? I'd hate to have post 1,000 be about something crappy like knockoff jerseys.
It's called the off-season.

Don't worry. The combine is this weekend. I personally consider that the unofficial start of the 2005 season. We'll have more to talk about starting Sunday.

Diablo10
05 Jan 2005, 01:30 PM
What..... none of you want to play ???

They're all fake! I've looked through most of them. Guess if you want an authentic one, you need to attend the equipment sale.

BTW? I was at Cassel's this past week and noticed all the new DCU apparel that they were making for DCU. I asked if it was for sale and they said No! It belongs to DCU. I spoke with one of the guys at the store and he stated that D.C. United has all of there warm-ups, practice shirts and other gear still embroidered there. Apparently, D.C. United receives their equipment from Adidas, but Cassel's (Embroidery/Award Shop in Fairfax, Va) does all the embroidery/screen printing on all of the team gear. Just thought you'd find that interesting!

nyrmetros
05 Jan 2005, 04:54 PM
They're all fake! I've looked through most of them.
Wrong, there is one there that is not fake.

LMoroney
05 Jan 2005, 06:31 PM
Wrong, there is one there that is not fake.

Yes there is an old 'third' jersey there, the black one with the white panels and a couple of red stripes.

:L

Cantankerous
05 Jan 2005, 06:33 PM
Wrong, there is one there that is not fake.
You mean the replica third strip from 99?

Here's the process:

Dismiss any listing for a jersey that has the word 'COOL!!" in it.
Dismiss any listing where the Buy It Now price is $12.
Dismiss any listing by a seller in Hong Kong, Thailand, or Singapore, esp. if either of the above two conditions hold as well.

Cantankerous
05 Jan 2005, 06:33 PM
Wrong, there is one there that is not fake.
You mean the replica third strip from 1999 (or was it 2000)?

Here's the process:

Dismiss any listing for a jersey that has the word 'COOL!!" in it.
Dismiss any listing where the Buy It Now price is $12.
Dismiss any listing by a seller in Hong Kong, Thailand, or Singapore, esp. if either of the above two conditions hold as well.

gnat
05 Jan 2005, 06:49 PM
but Cassel's (Embroidery/Award Shop in Fairfax, Va) does all the embroidery/screen printing on all of the team gear.
Thanks for the tidbit. I just called them and they confirmed that yes they still do DCU and they will embroider the crest on stuff for you (they didn't have pricing though as the people that price that stuff had already left). The real bonus is I have gotten stuff from them before and have always been happy with their work and service (never thought to check with them though since DCU does all their own jerseys now).

Anyone know where I can find a good quality blank fitted ball cap? (the few place I have found all require minimum orders of 20 :() I want the 3 logos and the 4 stars on one :cool:


-dave

Diablo10
05 Jan 2005, 07:17 PM
Funny? When I went to Casells, they told me that they would NOT embroider the crest/DCU logo on anything due to the fact that the logo is owned by D.C. United. I was willing to have it embroidered on a warmup that I would've purchased from them, but they said "No" Better check again in person. I was there when all the embroidery folks were there and that was there answer.

gnat
05 Jan 2005, 07:22 PM
Funny? When I went to Casells, they told me that they would NOT embroider the crest/DCU logo on anything due to the fact that the logo is owned by D.C. United. I was willing to have it embroidered on a warmup that I would've purchased from them, but they said "No" Better check again in person. I was there when all the embroidery folks were there and that was there answer.
Now I don't like you anymore :p

I needed to do that anyway for prices. :(

-dave

Diablo10
05 Jan 2005, 07:23 PM
Anyone know where I can find a good quality blank fitted ball cap? (the few place I have found all require minimum orders of 20 :() I want the 3 logos and the 4 stars on one :cool:


-dave

Dave,

There a place at Springfield Mall that has them for sale. It's a kiosk stand that does embroidery as well. I can't remember the name right off the top of my head.

Carlos

Barbara
05 Jan 2005, 07:25 PM
They're all fake! I've looked through most of them. Guess if you want an authentic one, you need to attend the equipment sale.

BTW? I was at Cassel's this past week and noticed all the new DCU apparel that they were making for DCU. I asked if it was for sale and they said No! It belongs to DCU. I spoke with one of the guys at the store and he stated that D.C. United has all of there warm-ups, practice shirts and other gear still embroidered there. Apparently, D.C. United receives their equipment from Adidas, but Cassel's (Embroidery/Award Shop in Fairfax, Va) does all the embroidery/screen printing on all of the team gear. Just thought you'd find that interesting!


For some reason I thought that it was all done by Adidas the last couple of years. I'm happy to hear that Cassel's is still doing it.

Diablo10
05 Jan 2005, 07:29 PM
To be honest, I was surprised when I saw all the warmups that Casell's just completed. That's when I asked if they did indeed do all the work for D.C. United. They said yes, they do all of D.C. Uniteds embroidery and screen printing. It's nice to know that I Casell's is minutes from my house. I plan on going there this weekend to have some stars done on my jerseys and warmups! :)