PDA

View Full Version : Are These Cards Fake?


Naui_Ocelotl
11 Sep 2009, 04:05 AM
So I was looking through the bay in the soccer card section and to my delight, since I collect Rafael Márquez and other Mexicans abroad cards, I came across this Rafa Márquez 'game-jersey' card.

However, upon further inspection the card looked quite "cheap" to be honest and not to mention I'd never heard of this Limited Art card manufacturer before. I decided to look at the sellers feedback (which is quite low) and not only that but apparently the person is based out of Thailand yet claims to be in California?

To the more experienced fútbol card collectors out there, are these cards fake or am I just being paranoid?

http://www.uppic.net/iz/2009limitedgjrm1marquez2.4.jpg

http://www.uppic.net/ie/2009limitedgjrm1marquez3.4.jpg

paradogs
11 Sep 2009, 08:47 AM
Hi there,
I think you are right, these Cards are selfmade and not a licensed product.
I do not know either Limited Art or AGI AUthentics, both are invisible on the Internet.
I remember that last year a few jersey Cards appeared for much more money but were gone soon after a many collectors sended critical questions.
But now that really bad, he offers really many cards for low prices and surely will fool some people.
To make it short, in my eyes these cards are far from being autenthentic or official, looks like somebody released his own set.
And putting them into cases for graded cards is really smart, looks more authentic and the customer does not have the card in his hand to check for quality....

Naui_Ocelotl
12 Sep 2009, 05:17 PM
Thanks for the response, I figured they were dubious cards and now the fact that the seller hasn't responded to my questions regarding the card's authenticity pretty much confirms my suspicions.

cmedina1983
12 Sep 2009, 11:06 PM
Escalate the dispute to a PayPal claim, assuming that you paid them in that fashion. If nothing happens and your dispute isn't solved, Ebay will put a gigantic dildo into the seller's arse and get you something out of it (not out of the arse).

Naui_Ocelotl
13 Sep 2009, 02:21 AM
Fortunately I didn't buy the cards nor did I put in a bid for them, in fact they're still up for bid as I type.

Since I'm a bit of a newcomer when it comes to soccer cards, I opened this thread to get other collectors opinion's on the authenticity of these cards.

Unfortunately though, this guy also has other questionable "jersey cards" (which people ARE actually bidding on) of the likes of Messi, Cristiano R, Torres, Gerrard, etcetera. As far as I know Futera is pretty much the only card maker nowadays that's putting out 'match worn' jersey cards of the aforementioned players.

Looks like some of those buyers are going to be disappointed when they receive their cards in the mail.

cmedina1983
14 Sep 2009, 01:50 AM
I'd then recommend reporting the bidder to Ebay directly and suggest what could be going on. Somebody is bound to listen because I know for a fact Ebay doesn't take kindly to that shit :)

Naui_Ocelotl
15 Sep 2009, 04:23 PM
I'm not completely sure about this, but I don't think I can report him since I didn't buy any of his cards? :confused:

Surely now it's in the hands of those who did end up buying those fakes to take action against that seller.