USSF C License Course

Discussion in 'Coach' started by lcstriker11, Feb 24, 2014.

1. lcstriker11

lcstriker11 Member

Jun 9, 2008
    Wisconsin
    Club:
    Liverpool FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I got word last week that my registration was approved for a C License course in Milwaukee this August. I'm sure some here have taken or audited one of these, and I'm interested to hear some opinions and experiences and maybe get some advice about what to expect or how to approach the course.

Some background: I'm relatively young in coaching terms (24) but I've been coaching club for 7 years. I also joined a high school program as a JV coach for both boys and girls, I have one season of each under my belt. I got my E License when I was 19, and when I look back on that I was a really terrible coach. That course was helpful but I didn't really become a decent coach until I "figured it out" around age 21. By that I mean I became invested in the process and learned how to effectively prepare a training session and implement a progressive plan throughout a season. I thought the D License course I took was excellent (took it two years ago), I learned a lot and it also helped to reinforce and refine some of the things I was already doing. I mainly have experience coaching ages 13 - 16 (mostly boys), but I have also helped with groups at U11 and U12. I enjoy coaching a ton and I take pride in learning the craft since I'm still young. I try to read a couple of new books each season and there are a couple really good coaches in my area that I've learned a lot from. In terms of playing experience, I played at the varsity level in high school and I played club throughout school as well, but only rec beyond that, so no higher level experience.