Thiago Motta sub with over 33 minutes left?

Discussion in 'Euro 2012' started by football_world, Jul 2, 2012.

1. football_world

Jun 13, 2006
    Hi, I'm not a coach so I am not an expert on substitution patterns. Anyways, coach Cesare Prandelli decided to sub Thiago Motta in for Montolivo at the 57 minute mark. This was Italy's final substitution. I understand that Italy is down 2-0 at that point and Cesare Prandelli needed to take a risk. I also understand that if you're only down by 1 goal, you can defer your last substituion until later.

My question is, does Cesare Prandelli need to take a risk this soon in the match though, with over 33 minutes left, not even including injury time? For example, could Cesare Prandelli have waited until the 70 minute mark to make a substituion - I would think 20 minutes is still plenty of time to score 2 goals? Then wouldn't he have been able to hold his 3rd substitution in case of an injury?

Is it common for coaches to use all 3 substitutions at the 57 minute mark in pro football when they are down by 2 goals? Was Cesare Prandelli forced to use the last substituion earlier because Spain controlled the flow of the game at the start of the second half and it was getting worse for Italy?

Again, I'm new to coaching so any help is appreciated. I'm sure some of you who understand coaching from a higher level understand what Cesare Prandelli was thinking. Thanks!

2. Mario Balotelli's Belly

Jul 4, 2012
    Club:
    Manchester City FC
    It's hard because Chiellini went off injured early, and Italy had to make changes to change the game. I wouldnt have subbed off Cassano tho. Could have really waited for the last 20 like you said. very rare tho 2 players come off injured around the hour mark.

3. Cyclonis

Cyclonis Forza Juve

Jul 12, 2007
    Los Angeles
    Club:
    Juventus FC
    Nat'l Team:
    Italy