the economics of working the refs

Discussion in 'Referee' started by superdave, Apr 7, 2014.

1. superdave

superdave Member+

Jul 14, 1999
    VB, VA
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Law5 and soccersubjectively repped this.
  2. Rufusabc

Rufusabc Member+

May 27, 2004
    Not a very well written article, in my opinion.

3. Pierre Head

Pierre Head Member+

Dec 24, 2005
    "Thankfully, I’m in a sweet spot where I am a damn good referee,"

This guy sounds like a pompous @@s.

But his analysis of the effects of college coaches on local refereeing is accurate, as far as those
    guys who do it mainly for the $$$.

PH

4. Yale

Yale Member

Nov 26, 2012
    I hear it from coaches all the time that I'm a “damn good referee”. Well, to be honest it's sometimes tough to make out that middle word, but I'm pretty sure that's what they're saying.

5. Pierre Head

Pierre Head Member+

Dec 24, 2005
    You must have nicer coaches than the rest of us!

PH

6. nonya

nonya Member

Mar 2, 2006
  7. Pierre Head

Pierre Head Member+

Dec 24, 2005
  8. That Cherokee

That Cherokee Member

Mar 11, 2014
    Stillwater, Oklahoma
    Not a NISOA ref myself, but I have heard from many who are that this is pretty common, get blocked by one coach and you pretty much lose access to the entire conference. Lots of politics and a general expectation to favor the home team by many coaches. silly IMO

9. Law5

Law5 Member+

Mar 24, 2005
    Beaverton OR