teaching coaches

Discussion in 'Coach' started by john rod, Mar 4, 2014.

1. john rod

john rod Member

Jan 8, 2005
    kingman,az
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I have been a coach and a ref for a long time. I was just elected to the board as chief coach. I held this position back in 1994-95. my question would be, if you had to teach 50 coaches [going by age groups, U 6-8, U10-12 and U 14-up] what would you teach them? this doesnt have to be real long, just some ideas which I might not have thought of so far.
    Thanks Rod in AZ

2. de Kromme

de Kromme Member

Jan 26, 2009
    Burbville
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Nat'l Team:
    Netherlands
    What's your coaching philosophy? How do you want your club/program to play?

Start there are find ideas/drills/sessions/methods etc... that serve your purpose.

3. rca2

rca2 Member+

Nov 25, 2005
    #3 rca2, Mar 4, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2014
    Depends on how much time you have. With only a short time available, I would probably talk about club policies, coaching methods and practice plans. Build a short introduction on the methods as defined in the USSF C License Handout on Methods of Coaching http://www.ussoccer.com/coaches/licenses/national-c.aspx

and then get specific on what to do for each age group based on the USYSA "Practice Activities." (Contains 20 age appropriate practice plans, enough for a season.)
    http://www.usyouthsoccer.org/us_you...uides_for_the_u6-u8_u-10_and_u-12_age_groups/

For the coaches of the older kids in place of the U-Little practice guides, I would talk generally about coaching priorities and then give specific coaching objectives for each age group using the 12 week season plan on page 60 of Part 4, Planning and Training, of the USSF Curriculum.
    http://www.ussoccer.com/coaches/coaching-education/coaching-home.aspx

Then open the floor for questions. And end with an offer of further help and the idea that you are approachable for questions and suggestions.

4. dcole