Separate names with a comma.
Discussion in 'Referee' started by bothways, Jan 3, 2013.
- ref made a meal of it- retroactive ban for diving!
red card for both players- violent conduct
That's one of those "deer in the headlights" moments.
Restart is either a drop ball or an IFK for a reckless tackle that is not a foul, right?
even at the highest levels... assessors are telling referees to work on their positioning
Notice the trainers using the magic sponge on the referee.
SFP against the referee... he was right to show the red.... but seriously, get out of the way. Restart with a DB
I'm not so sure the restart would be a DB. I think that tackle is a yellow if it was on a player. I mean, the ref was facing away from the black player who actually took him out. If he tried to step away from the blue player, he steps straight into the black player's tackle.
In my games, I found that if I let play get too close to me such that I can't confidently get out of the way, my instinct is to freeze and let the players play around me. The worst thing you can do is lunge into the path of a player who thinks he has successfully avoided you.
Why wouldn't it be a dropped ball? Play was stopped. No foul was committed. The restart when the game is not stopped for a foul, or ball out of touch is a dropped ball.
Now, if we want to discuss the merits of the tackle, that is another thing. Personally, I have sent a player off for a tackle like this, because they missed the ball and got the player. At this level, I see nothing wrong with this challenge and I would guess Black probably would have got the ball if he hadn't hit the referee.
As to avoiding contact, I feel this one is about 90% on the referee. It looks like blue has just won possession and the referee doesn't start immediately backing out of the center (this tackle occurred just outside the circle at midfield!). While he would have been ok had blue controlled the ball, the errant pass hung him out to dry. He could have avoided the contact by side-stepping towards the blue half.... if he had realized there was a black player behind him. I would guess that when he saw the blue player slide and didn't see why, he had to be thinking... oh sh!t. Then again, this is what I picked up from the video, it could be 100% wrong. The thing I am more confident in saying is that he was definitely not in the best position for this sequence of events.
Also, while your last statement is true, the best thing you can do is to not be in the way in the first place. While this is tough at times with U-littles, it should become easier as the skill level improves.
Or misconduct. The tackle is reckless, should it matter if it was a foul?
Edit: The answer is yes.
If it wasn't clear, I was suggesting analyzing the contact on the ref for misconduct as though he were an opponent.
I haven't been able to access the clip . . . but if the tackle was reckless, why would it not be a foul?
The person tackled was the referee. The tackle didn't make it to the opponent.
Well, you answered your own question there about the foul scenario, but there could still be misconduct (Violent Conduct). Looking at this incident for misconduct, the referee is part of the field. Unless he is 100% sure that the player directly targeted him (not the case here) there is not much he can do but shake it off and get in better position next time.
Ahh. I was under the impression it was a tackle of the opponent and also contact with the R . . .
I don't think reckless, etc., is useful to analyze contact with the R as the R is (hopefully!) not involved in the play of the ball and cannot lawfully be tackled at all. -- you have(1) nothing, (2) USB, or (3) VC. This comes down to fingersptizengefuhl. (Obvioulsy, for the first, if the R needs to stop play, restart would be DB)
So the ref was guilty of DORCO. (Add that to the acronymphomania list please.)
I didn't any foul or reckless tackle in the clip and based on the announcers, they didn't either. They mentioned that the red card shown in the clip was done in jest. Blue came into the tackle with his boot sliding along the turf.
I am thinking it should be DB at the point where the referee was taken out. It simply looks like "wrong place, wrong time".
Denying of a Reckless Challenge Opportunity?
No, denial of an obvious red card opportunity.