Last night I had the center on a HS girls varsity match with two very low-skill teams. It was the second game of the season for both teams, and not a conference match. The score was tied 1-1 with 10 minutes remaining, when a striker took a strong shot from a short distance outside the penalty area. A defender about even with the penalty mark jumped, raised her arms above her head, and made contact with the ball with her hands. The shot was clearly going well wide of the goal and the ball was minimally deflected by the touch, but the contact was clearly audible to everyone in the area. To this point in the game I had called two or three handling offenses, and there were close to a dozen incidents of hand/arm - ball contact that I had deemed not deliberate and did not whistle. I bit the bullet, signaled the PK, the captain buried the shot, and the game finished 2-1. I know I made the correct call by the rules, but it didn't feel good to make. The coach of course took the opportunity to complain about me making that call while ignoring other "handballs" earlier in the game. And it is certainly possible that I missed a handling or two among the sloppy play at midfield. I can rationalize it as a learning opportunity for the player so they won't make that mistake when the games actually count for something, but what I'm wondering is would any of you, given the situation as I described, find a way to ignore the pointless touch by the defender and not give the PK? And how would you defend the non-call to the other team?