FUTSAL: goal clearance Question

Discussion in 'Referee' started by NHRef, Dec 3, 2012.

  1. NHRef

    NHRef Member+

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Southern NH
    For some reason, today has been the day that I get questions for Futsal that I need to answer, so here's #1 (another topic for another question)

    On a goal clearance that is touched before leaving the penalty area, does the 4 second requirement reset, when:

    1) Touched by a member of the keepers team - fairly clear in the LOTG that it does NOT reset here
    2) Touched by a member of the other team -

    LOTG says "touched by another player before it's in play" does not reset the 4s rule. However this makes perfect sense if a keepers teammate touches it, makes no sense if a defender touches it.

    I think the "law 18" answer is that you can declare an IFK to the keepers team because you can't challenge the keeper and prevent him from putting the ball into play.

    Is this the right logic?


  2. campbed

    campbed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA
    Your fair play Spidey senses are close to the mark.
    1 - No, 4 seconds do not reset. Read the attacking goalie or teammate screwed up.
    2 - No, but. We do not reset the 4 second count. Instead we start a NEW (i.e. the key word in the LOTG is "retaken") count for a NEW GC coming out (when the goalie is ready to do so again).

    Law 16:
    Good question, this is likely to happen.

    AND:
    If like me, you feel these Futsal discussions should be off in their own Futsal Referee Forum, please vote/say-so here: http://www.bigsoccer.com/community/threads/futsal-referee-forum.1979014/
  3. RefGil

    RefGil Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Someone will correct me if I'm wrong, but my understanding in #1 is that the count stops on the infractions, but is not reset. Instead, it restarts from where you stopped when the keeper picks the ball up again.

    As campbed says, #2 results in a new goal clearance with a new count.
  4. campbed

    campbed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA
    By golly you are right. We've (I've) been doing it wrong. Pause is indeed the correct procedure.

    Law 16:
    Applies to Law 15 and Law 17 too!


  5. whistleblowerusa

    whistleblowerusa BigSoccer Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    The correct answer has already been given. However, please note that the ball is not n play yet so only misconduct if an opponent interferes with the release. No indirect free kick unless the ball was already outside the penalty area when the interference occured.

Share This Page