Early guess at the 2010 World Cup roster?

Discussion in 'USA Men' started by lawrenceterp, Oct 24, 2006.

1. lawrenceterp

lawrenceterp Moderator
    Staff Member

Sep 2, 2006
    Virginia
    Does anyone care to take an early guess on what our team will look like? I'm fairly new to following soccer so I don't have a good idea (other then the younger guys who were on this past year's team). I'd love to see some early roster projections from the more knowledgeable fans.

2. eplkewell

eplkewell Member

Aug 27, 2004
    Grand Rapids, MI
    23 names off the top of my head? Hopefully we can have a roster something like this:

GK:
    Howard
    Cannon
    Pickens

DF:
    Gibbs
    Onyewu
    Bocanegra
    Spector
    Cherundolo
    Bornstein
    Conrad

MF:
    Mastroeni
    Dempsey
    Beasley
    Convey
    Donovan
    Mapp
    Clark
    Adu
    Olsen

FW:
    E. Johnson
    Ching
    Rolfe
    Jaqua

I know I left out a lot of people's favorite young stars, and the roster is a bit more MLS-slanted than some fans would like to see, but I think this could shake out. Obviously, there are 50 or 100 guys who have at least some shot at making it right now. I think its just too early to tell.

3. voros

voros Member

Jun 7, 2002
    Parts Unknown
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Goalkeepers:
    Tim Howard
    Joe Cannon
    Brad Guzan

Defenders:
    Carlos Bocanegra
    Oguchi Onyewu
    Cory Gibbs
    Steve Cherundolo
    Jonathan Spector
    Heath Pearce
    Jimmy Conrad

Midfielders:
    Clint Dempsey
    Ricardo Clark
    Pablo Mastroeni
    Bobby Convey
    DaMarcus Beasley
    Benny Feilhaber
    Justin Mapp
    Freddy Adu

Forwards:
    Landon Donovan
    Eddie Johnson
    Taylor Twellman
    Kenny Cooper
    Chris Rolfe

Close Calls: Michael Bradley, Troy Perkins, Josmer Altidore, Jay DeMerit, Brian Ching

Obviously there's a long way to go, and plenty of other guys have lots of time to make a move.